Skip to content

Yukon sending 119 athletes to westerns

Team Yukon is ready to roll. The team that will represent the territory at the Western Canada Summer Games August 7-16 in Wood Buffalo, Alta., has been selected.

Team Yukon is ready to roll.

The team that will represent the territory at the Western Canada Summer Games August 7-16 in Wood Buffalo, Alta., has been selected.

A total of 119 athletes, 25 coaches, eight managers plus mission staff, making a total of 165, will be waving Yukon flags at the opening ceremony.

“In talking to many of the teams, they’re super excited,” said Yukon Chef de Mission Trevor Twardochleb. “I know the region of Wood Buffalo is jacked up to have everybody there. They have jaw-dropping facilities, their cultural program mixed with the athletic competition is going to be out of this world - it’s going to be one big show. And, I tell you, the athletes are going to be treated exceptionally well.”

It’s the biggest team Yukon has sent to a summer Games for some time. It’s up from 102 athletes at the 2011 westerns in Kamloops and 99 athletes at the 2013 Canada Summer Games.

Some gaps from Yukon’s 2011 westerns roster have been filled. Unlike in Kamloops, Yukon will have representation in gymnastics, canoe/kayak, judo and female basketball.

Also, Yukon’s athletics team is much larger. Only four competed at the 2011 westerns and 20 are on the roster this time around.

One area on the roster that saw a decrease is in swimming. Only two swimmers - Cassis Lindsay and Luke Bakica - will hit the pool these westerns, down from 14 in 2011.

For the first time Yukon will be kicking up sand with a beach volleyball team. Max Clarke and Benjamin Grundmanis will compete in beach volleyball and will also be on Yukon’s male indoor volleyball team.

“This is the first time ever we’re competing in beach volleyball and I hope it’s the start of good things to come,” said Twardochleb.

Clarke and Grundmanis aren’t the only athletes on more than one squad. Ewan Halliday and Matthias Hoenisch are slated to compete in both tennis and soccer, Kate Londero in athletics and female volleyball, and Justin Wishart-MacDougall in athletics and soccer.

Team Yukon will hold a pep rally at Shipyards Park on Monday at 6 p.m.

Contact Tom Patrick at


Artistic Gymnastics

Reena Coyne

Coach - Catherine O’Donovan


Sophie Janke

Kate Londero

Katie Vowk

Shailyn Moore

Alysha Gullison

Jennifer Mendelsohn   Kestrel Martin

Kieran Halliday

Jared Leary

Malcolm Muir

Eric Porter

James Russel

Kuduat Shorty-Henyu Brody Smith

Cassel Scholz

Aidan Bradley

Caleb Charlie

Brahm Hyde

Levi Johnson

Jack Amos

Darby McIntyre

Justin Wishart-MacDougall

Coach - Kristen Johnston

Coach - Lisa-Marie Vowk

Coach - Chris Kirk

Coach - Rodney Hulstein

Coach - Don White

Manager - Elyn Jones


Lukas Kobler

Mannie Sharma

Ritik Sharma

Coach - Kathie Harrop

Manager - Brian Wilson

Basketball (female)

Jetta Bilsky

Hannah Bjork-Andison Landyn Blisner

Maggie Brook

Sheridan Curteanu

Dylan Massie

Katelyn Holway

Emily Johnson

Ebony Leamon

Isabel Magsucang Danni Nelson

Sigourny Whipple-Grantham Coach - Jamie Shaw

Coach - Nicole Schroeder

Basketball (male)

Ralph Hermosa

Ryan Hindson

Cameron Kasook

Darcy LaRochelle Akshay Malhotra

Dave Mindanao

Christopher Nerysoo

Ian New

Christian Ouimet Josh Rumbaoa

Grayson Turner

Coach - Mark Hureau

Coach - Chris Carino

Manager - Scott Hindson


Julianne Girouard

Pelly Vincent-Braun

Andrew Crist

Emily Crist

Coach - Dan Girouard

Manager - Jane Vincent


Sara Burke-Forsyth

Ian Hansen

Shea Hoffman

Coach - Trena Irving

Manager - Phil Hoffman

Tech. support - Marc LaPointe


Hannah King

Brandon Butler

Jacob Melanson

Shayne Melanson Coach - Peter Melanson

Coach - Penny Prysnuk

Soccer (female)

Ava Cairns-Locke

Jewel Davies

Jayden Demchuk

Maggie Fekete

Alice Frost-Hanberg

Georgia Gaw

Malorie Hanson

Lara Herry-Saint Onge

Line Jensen

Tyra Jones

Kathleen Lanigan

Samantha Ng

Sarah Nyland

Bryn Peterson

Alizee Salesse

Dana Sellars

Charlotte van Randen

Coach - Ashley Hill

Coach - Tony Gaw

Manager - Jennifer Pope

Soccer (male)

Cody Amaral

Marek Boulerice

Skyler Bryant

Ewan Campbell

Seth Carey

Sam Crocker

Ethan Gaw

Ewan Halliday

Matthias Hoenisch

Simon Kishchuk

Carl Knickle

Nicky Koe

Felix Maltais

Tyler Milton

Ethan Vanderkley

Dawson Weir

Justin Wishart-MacDougall

Max Zaparinuk

Coach - Edwin Vanderkley

Coach - Edgar Musonda

Manager - Paul Kishchuk


Cassis Lindsay

Luke Bakica

Coach - Malwina Bukszowana

Manager - Kathy Zrum


Alex Roberts

Ewan Halliday

Matthias Hoenisch

Coach - Jan Polivka

Manager - Stacy Lewis

Beach Volleyball

Max Clarke

Benjamin Grundmanis

Coach - Bryce Voogd

Volleyball (female)

Paige Bevilacqua

Avery Bramadat

Thea Carey

Abby Hawes

Emma Hoogland

Ashley Lai

Kate Londero

Tayla McNally

Mel Moya

Jiela Tobias

Chloe Turner-Davis

Aly Wiens

Coach - D’Arcy Hill

Coach - Justine MacKay

Manager - Janet Clarke

Volleyball (male)

Mark Allen

Zack Bartholomeus

Max Clarke

Benjamin Grundmanis

Peter Jacob

Anshil Kumar

Adrian Robinson

Morgan Schmidt

Kieran Stacey

Luka Van Randen

Kyle Wallace

Coach - Denis Boyd

Mission Staff

Trevor Twardochleb - Chef de Mission/beach volleyball

Tracey Bilsky - asst. Chef de


Adrian Hawkings - badminton/canoe-kayak

Sarah Lewis - photographer

Paolo Gallina - communications

Catherine O’Donovan

- gymnastics

Marg White - athletics

Allan Lucier - cycling

Tara Leenders - judo

Stacy Lewis - tennis

Cali Battersby - soccer

Kathy Zrum - swimming

Janet Clarke - volleyball