Top cross country skiers in the flush

Cross Country Yukon has just announced the recipients of the Podium 2007 awards. Five local skiers will receive cash awards totaling $2,000 under…

Cross Country Yukon has just announced the recipients of the Podium 2007 awards.

Five local skiers will receive cash awards totaling $2,000 under the program, based on their outstanding performances at the national championships in Thunder Bay.

Topping the awards list is Graham Nishikawa, a member of both the Yukon and the Canadian ski teams.

Competing in the tough open-men’s category, Nishikawa turned in some outstanding performances at the nationals, finishing in the top 10 in all four his races.

Emily Nishikawa, Bryn Knight, Ray Sabo and Nansen Murray all received cheques for top 10 placings in their age groups.

Tina Sutherland, who chairs Cross Country Yukon’s High Performance Committee, says that the awards “are a way of helping these high-performance athletes with their training expenses and provides recognition to some of the many talented athletes we have in the territory.”

Head Coach Alain Masson noted that the awards are a strong indication of the depth of talent in the Yukon.

“The Nationals were the same week as Arctic Winter Games and we had some of our best young skiers in Alaska instead of competing in Thunder Bay.

“If everyone who qualified had been at the Nationals, we would be paying out quite a bit more.”

The Nationals attracted more than 300 top skiers from across the country.


Rec league (Tuesday)

Kluane Drillers 7

Sports North 1

In the B-division final game, Kluane pummeled Sports North for the title.

After giving up a single goal late in the first period, Kluane goaltender Floyd McCormick shut the door and kept it closed.

With the score tied 1-1, the Drillers went to work in the second period, scoring six unanswered goals. A frustrated Sports North squad ran into penalty trouble and couldn’t get it together.

Scoring for Kluane were Doug Roberts and Rob Pitzel (both with two goals and three assists), Tyler Murray with a goal and three helpers, and Edwin Vanderkley and Andrew Zinck with singles.

Linus Fraser scored the lone Sports North goal.


Tuesday night league

Yukon Brewing 15

Kilrich 13

Brewer’s Kyle Marchuk beat Gordon Starko of Kilrich in straight sets.

Rob Schneider and Marie Desmarais won their matches for Kilrich in four sets, over Vince Boutilier and Jeff Brown, respectively.

Yukon Brewing took the overall victory on a default win by Mark Tubman.

Ketza 18

Assante 15

Two wins each for these teams, but Ketza’s Blaine Tessier and Jim Gilpin managed to earn some extra points for their squad by going five sets in their losses to Steve Fecteau and Richard Meredith.

Charlie Hoeller beat Assante’s Kenji in four sets, and Michael Hanson beat Michel Gelinas in four as well.

Underhill 18

Electrical Shop 10

Underhill’s Cameron Webber swept Marc Lemond, while Jane Bell and Chris Toleman won their matches over Robert McMynn and Patrick Gardiner in four sets.

Lori Muir recorded the only Electrical Shop win, over Janet Lee in straight sets.

Semi-finals start next week.


1st Assante, 281

2nd Ketza, 273

3rd Underhill, 265

4th Kilrich, 254

5th Pizza Hut, 248

6th Electrical Shop, 230

7th Yukon Brewing, 209

Just Posted

City of Whitehorse tells taxi passengers who feel unsafe to not travel alone

Suggestion criticized by advocates for placing burden of safety on passengers, not taxi companies

Whitehorse’s new emergency room slated to open in early January

40,000-square-foot building will be more efficient, officials say

Judge finds Whitehorse man not guilty of raping teen in 2015 after second trial

Judge Raymond Wyant found Jackie James Kodwat not guilty of sexual assault.

Whitehorse’s sidewalks are a deathtrap

In the interest of safety and simplicity, the city should just plow the sidewalks

Police, coroner investigating suspicious death in Pelly Crossing

Investigators have ordered an autopsy, which will take place in Vancouver Dec. 18

Two Yukon projects shortlisted for the Arctic Inspiration Prize

Projects from Whitehorse, Carcross up for cash

Lower Post, B.C., man suing Yukon RCMP over assault allegation

Suit alleges man ended up with ‘ended up with bruising on his arms, biceps and chest’

Yukon needs a better plan for long-term care

The government can find solutions if it has the will. Does it have the will?

Hard travel over the Yukon’s winter trails

The overland trip to Dawson City today is a cakewalk compared to a century ago

Globalization infiltrates the Yukon’s recycling bins

You’re going to have to do a better job sorting your junk or else China won’t take it

Driving during the holidays

It’s hectic on the roads at Christmastime

Whitehorse council chambers needs new audio-visual equipment

‘More than 10 people’ watch city’s televised meetings

Most Read