First time champions crowned at Whitehorse International Bonspiel

A number of curlers finally broke through to titles at the Whitehorse Curling Club’s International Bonspiel over the weekend.

A number of curlers finally broke through to titles at the Whitehorse Curling Club’s International Bonspiel over the weekend.

All three divisions saw teams win their first A titles at the 65th annual event. A total of 34 teams competed March 24-26.

It was a long road for Laura Eby’s Whitehorse rink. The team played seven games over the weekend, winning six straight to capture the women’s A division title.

“We lost our first game so we had to work our way all the way back into the A final, which means we couldn’t lose a game,” said Eby. “We played a lot of games to get here.”

Skip Eby and teammates second Janine Peters, third Lorna Spenner and lead Tamar Vandenberghe, won the division with an 8-5 win over Peggy Dorosz’s Whitehorse rink in the final.

Team Dorosz, which included Laini Klassen, Kandice Braga and Inge Brown, played four games including the final.

“I’ve played the A final several times but I’ve never won,” said Eby. “Normally I’m in Hawaii for the international, so I haven’t played in a couple of years, but it feels great to win.”

It was a similar story for Fairbanks skip Bill Gryder. Gryder believes he’s played in the bonspiel 15 or more times since 1979 without ever winning — until Sunday.

His rink of third/vice skip Bert Mitman, second Dave Miller and lead Ethan Birkholm won the men’s A division with a 7-4 victory over Whitehorse’s Doug Hamilton in the final.

“I’m elated. In Fairbanks winning the Whitehorse international is a big deal,” said Gryder. “Not very many people from Fairbanks have done it. Dave Miller on our team, this is his second time, so he’s pretty happy too.”

Team Gryder won five out of their six games over the weekend. Their one loss came against Team Hamilton, which included Robb Andison, Don Duncan and Lee Malanchuck.

Gryder lost in the final in 2015 to a Whitehorse team led by skip Ray Mikkelsen that included Hamilton playing third.

“I had a great time. As long as we can, we’ll be back here,” said Gryder. “The four of us are all retired now, so we can do. This is one of the trips we can plan on.”

A new mixed division was included in this year’s bonspiel and a local team took the top spot.

Team Cameron, with skip Scott Cameron, went undefeated in four games to win the eight-team division, but it wasn’t smooth sailing all the way through.

“We played really well all weekend, but we got off to a slow start,” said Cameron. “We got in the hole early in all our games except this one (the final) and clawed back. So that felt pretty good to win all four games coming from behind.”

Team Cameron — third Carrie McClelland, second Troy Searson and lead Julia Ahlgren — took the title with a 6-4 win over Fairbanks’ Team McDowal, which was wearing ’70s-themed costumes all weekend. The McDowal rink included Devon McDowal, Courtney Miklos, Kate Morrison and Ethan Vanhavel.

“This final game was really tight,” said Cameron. “They had a shot for a tie (in the last end) but it just over curled for them a little bit.”

It was the second time a mixed division was included in the bonspiel. One was added 15 or 20 years ago but was not kept.

Contact Tom Patrick at

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Liberal leader Sandy Silver speaks outside his campaign headquarters in Dawson City following early poll results on April 12. (Robin Sharp/Yukon News)
BREAKING: Minority government results will wait on tie vote in Vuntut Gwitchin

The Yukon Party and the Liberal Party currently have secured the same amount of seats

Yukonomist Keith Halliday
YUKONOMIST: The Neapolitan election

Do you remember those old bricks of Neapolitan ice cream from birthday… Continue reading

Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News)
Exposure notice issued for April 3 Air North flight

Yukon Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley has issued another… Continue reading

Crystal Schick/Yukon News file
Runners in the Yukon Arctic Ultra marathon race down the Yukon River near the Marwell industrial area in Whitehorse on Feb. 3, 2019.
Cold-weather exercise hard on the lungs

Amy Kenny Special to the Yukon News It might make you feel… Continue reading

Whitehorse City Hall (Joel Krahn/Yukon News file)
This week at city hall

A look at issues discussed by Whitehorse city council at its April 6 meeting.

Today’s Mailbox: Rent freezes and the youth vote

Dear Editor, I read the article regarding the recommendations by the Yukon… Continue reading

Point-in-Time homeless count planned this month

Volunteers will count those in shelters, short-term housing and without shelter in a 24-hour period.

The Yukon’s new ATIPP Act came into effect on April 1. Yukoners can submit ATIPP requests online or at the Legislative Assembly building. (Gabrielle Plonka/Yukon News file)
New ATIPP Act in effect as of April 1

The changes promise increased government transparency

A new conservancy in northern B.C. is adjacent to Mount Edziza Provincial Park. (Courtesy BC Parks)
Ice Mountain Lands near Telegraph Creek, B.C., granted conservancy protection

The conservancy is the first step in a multi-year Tahltan Stewardship Initiative

Yukon RCMP reported a child pornography-related arrest on April 1. (Phil McLachlan/Black Press file)
Whitehorse man arrested on child pornography charges

The 43-year-old was charged with possession of child pornography and making child pornography

Team Yukon athletes wave flags at the 2012 Arctic Winter Games opening ceremony in Whitehorse. The postponed 2022 event in Wood Buffalo, Alta., has been rescheduled for Jan. 29 to Feb. 4, 2023. (Justin Kennedy/Yukon News file)
New dates set for Arctic Winter Games

Wood Buffalo, Alta. will host event Jan. 29 to Feb. 4, 2023

Victoria Gold Corp. has contributed $1 million to the First Nation of Na-cho Nyak Dun after six months of production at the Eagle Gold Mine. (Submitted/Victoria Gold Corp.)
Victoria Gold contributes $1 million to First Nation of Na-cho Nyak Dun

Victoria Gold signed a Comprehensive Cooperation and Benefits Agreement in 2011

Most Read