Skip to content

Dates set for Yukon school council elections

Councils to guide the operations of 17 schools will be elected
A student drops a filled out ballot into an Elections Canada box in Whitehorse on April 12, 2021. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News Files)

Elections will be held for 17 school councils across the territory with nominations next month and polling in early May.

The councils serve as a way for parents and other citizens to provide input and guide the operations of the territory’s schools. The role the councils are granted by the Yukon’s Education Act includes reviewing and approving school growth plans, establishing policies and participating in the hiring of principals. The councils also advise on school budget expenditures, staffing needs and student transportation among other aspects of the schools’ operations.

Elected members of the school councils serve two-year terms.

Candidate nominations open April 15 and close April 25 at noon.

Early in-person voting will be available at schools that are holding a vote on May 2 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The primary voting day will be May 6 from 3 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Maxwell Harvey, Elections Yukon’s chief electoral officer, explained that participation in the elections, either as a candidate or a voter, is not limited to parents or guardians of students at the schools. These roles are also open to Canadian citizens who are at least 18-years-old who have lived in the school’s attendance area for at least three months.

Additionally, only registered parishioners at a Whitehorse Catholic parish are eligible to participate in the elections of the councils representing the Catholic schools. The three Catholic schools are: Christ the King Elementary School, Holy Family Elementary School and St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Secondary School.

Schools in the communities where a new council is being elected are: Del Van Gorder School in Faro, J.V. Clark School in Mayo, Khàtìnas.àxh Community School in Teslin, Robert Service School in Dawson and Tantalus School in Carmacks.

In Whitehorse, councils are being elected at: Selkirk Elementary School, École Whitehorse Elementary School, Elijah Smith Elementary School, F.H. Collins Secondary School, Golden Horn Elementary School, Hidden Valley Elementary School, Jack Hulland Elementary School, Whistle Bend Elementary School and Porter Creek Secondary School.

Councils range from three to seven elected members.

“Upholding principles of inclusivity and accessibility, Elections Yukon is committed to ensuring a fair and transparent electoral process, enabling all eligible electors to participate and exercise their right to vote and be candidates in these elections,” Harvey said.

Contact Jim Elliot at

Jim Elliot

About the Author: Jim Elliot

I’m a B.C. transplant here in Whitehorse at The News telling stories about the Yukon's people, environment, and culture.
Read more