Sasha Masson, pictured on the right during a race in 2017, finished fourth in the U20 men’s sprint race at the Haywood NorAm event on Dec. 6 in Canmore, Alta. (Tom Patrick/Yukon News file)

Yukon cross-country skiers race at Haywood NorAm event in Alberta

Sasha Masson had the best result of the weekend, finishing fourth in the sprint

It was a busy weekend of racing for Yukon cross-country skiers at the Haywood NorAm event in Canmore, Alta., from Dec. 6 to 8.

On Dec. 6, skiers competed in a 1.3-kilometre sprint event.

A total of five Yukoners raced in the U20 men’s sprint. Sasha Masson was the top finisher, placing fourth with a time of two minutes and 48.89 seconds. Xavier McKeever won the final with a time of two minutes and 41.84 seconds.

Close behind Masson was teammate Derek Deuling in 13th with a time of two minutes and 50.95 seconds and Victor-Emile Thibeault was 22nd with a time of two minutes and 56.11 seconds. Both Deuling and Thibeault reached the quarter-finals.

Romeo Champagne was 42nd after qualification with a time of three minutes and 6.3 seconds, and Curtis Cash was 54th with a time of three minutes and 11.02 seconds.

Whitehorse’s Amanda Thomson finished 10th in the U20 women’s category with a time of three minutes and 24.57 seconds, behind winner Anna Pryce with a time of three minutes and 10.7 seconds.

Joining Thomson in the U20 category was Sonjaa Schmidt who placed 46th after qualification with a time of three minutes and 43.24 seconds.

Focus shifted to the interval-start classic races on Dec. 7 with more strong finishes for Yukon skiers.

At the senior level, Graham Nishikawa finished 21st in the men’s 10-km race with a time of 28 minutes and 58.8 seconds. Zak Ketterson won the race with a time of 27 minutes and 33.1 seconds.

Deuling had the highest finish of the day for the Yukon, placing fifth in the men’s U20 10-km race with a time of 30 minutes and 2.8 seconds. Joe Davies won the category with a time of 28 minutes and 41.3 seconds.

Masson finished 16th with a time of 31 minutes and 20.9 seconds, Thibeault finished 31st with a time of 33 minutes and 0.8 seconds, Curtis Cash finished 36th with a time of 34 minutes and 8.1 seconds, and Champagne finished 44th with a time of 35 minutes and 59.2 seconds.

Jasmine Drolet won the U20 women’s five-km race with a time of 16 minutes and 43.9 seconds.

Thomson finished 14th with a time of 17 minutes and 28.2 seconds, and Schmidt finished 19th with a time of 17 minutes and 51 seconds.

The final race of the weekend was an interval-start free race on Dec. 8.

In the senior men’s 15-km race, Nishikawa finished 15th with a time of 44 minutes and 5.8 seconds. Benjamin Lustgarten won the race with a time of 42 minutes and 56 seconds.

McKeever was the U20 men’s 15-km winner with a time of 44 minutes and 42.9 seconds.

The fastest Yukoner was Deuling in 14th place with a time of 48 minutes and 25.4 seconds. Masson was 23rd with a time of 50 minutes and 27.3 seconds, Champagne was 29th with a time of 52 minutes and 46.6 seconds, and Cash was 40th with a time of 57 minutes and 40.8 seconds.

Contact John Hopkins-Hill at

cross country skiing

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Maria Metzen off the start line of the Yukon Dog Mushers Association’s sled dog race on Jan. 9. (Gabrielle Plonka/Yukon News)
Mushers race in preparation for FirstMate Babe Southwick

The annual race is set for Feb. 12 and 13.

The Yukon government is making changes to the medical travel system, including doubling the per diem and making destinations for medical services more flexible. (Joel Krahn/Yukon News file)
Subsidy for medical travel doubled with more supports coming

The change was recommended in the Putting People First report endorsed by the government

Chloe Sergerie, who was fined $500 under the <em>Civil Emergency Measures Act</em> on Jan. 12, says she made the safest choice available to her when she entered the territory. (Mike Thomas/Yukon News file)
Woman fined $500 under CEMA says she made ‘safest decision’ available

Filling out a declaration at the airport was contrary to self-isolation, says accused

The Yukon Department of Education building in Whitehorse on Dec. 22, 2020. Advocates are calling on the Department of Education to reverse their redefinition of Individualized Education Plans (IEPs) that led to 138 students losing the program this year. (John Hopkins-Hill/Yukon News file)
Advocates call redefinition of IEPs “hugely concerning,” call for reversal

At least 138 students were moved off the learning plans this year

Yukonomist Keith Halliday
Yukonomist: Your Northern regulatory adventure awaits!

“Your Northern adventure awaits!” blared the headline on a recent YESAB assessment… Continue reading

Yukoner Shirley Chua-Tan is taking on the role of vice-chair of the social inclusion working group with the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences’ oversight panel and working groups for the autism assessment. (Submitted)
Canadian Academy of Health Sciences names Yukoner to panel

Shirley Chua-Tan is well-known for a number of roles she plays in… Continue reading

The Fish Lake area viewed from the top of Haeckel Hill on Sept. 11, 2018. The Yukon government and Kwanlin Dün First Nation (KDFN) announced they are in the beginning stages of a local area planning process for the area. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News file)
Local area planning for Fish Lake announced

The Government of Yukon and Kwanlin Dün First Nation (KDFN) announced in… Continue reading

Whitehorse City Hall. (Joel Krahn/Yukon News file)
City hall, briefly

A look at decisions made by Whitehorse city council this week

Fire damage, photographed on Jan. 11, to a downtown apartment building which occurred late in the evening on Jan. 8. Zander Firth, 20, from Inuvik, was charged with the arson and is facing several other charges following his Jan. 12 court appearance. (Gabrielle Plonka/Yukon News)
More charges for arson suspect

The Inuvik man charged in relation to the fire at Ryder Apartments… Continue reading

The grace period for the new Yukon lobbyist registry has come to an end and those who seek to influence politicians will now need to report their efforts to a public database. (Mike Thomas/Yukon News file)
Grace period for new lobbyist registry ends

So far nine lobbyists have registered their activities with politicians in the territory

The Government of Yukon Main Administration Building in Whitehorse on Aug. 21, 2020. Some Yukon tourism and culture non-profit organizations may be eligible to receive up to $20,000 to help recover from losses due to the COVID-19 pandemic. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News file)
Details released on relief funding for tourism and culture non-profits

Some Yukon tourism and culture non-profit organizations may be eligible to receive… Continue reading

Most Read