Whitehorse runner wins fourth straight Dome Race

Whitehorse's Stephen Waterreus is the Brett Favre of the Midnight Dome Race.

Whitehorse’s Stephen Waterreus is the Brett Favre of the Midnight Dome Race.

After saying he was retiring from the race last year, Waterreus was back again to win the race for the fourth consecutive year in the 34th annual event in Dawson on Saturday.

“Last year I said I was going to retire, but obviously I didn’t,” said Waterreus. “But I was back for this year and this year I’m saying I’m retiring again from the Dome Race. But you may see me next year again.”

Waterreus completed the 7.2 kilometres up the Dome Road, climbing 564 metres in elevation, with a time of 35 minutes, 28 seconds, just over a minute slower than his time from last year.

“It went fine. I guess I did what I had to do to get to the top in first,” said Waterreus. “About halfway through I started putting on a little bit of a lead. Towards the top I was going to push a little bit harder, but I thought, what the hell – I didn’t want to kill myself.


“Everything was the same as every other year; the course is always the same. Maybe there were a few faces that are normally there that weren’t there.”

Whitehorse cross-country skier Knute Johnsgaard, who represented the Yukon at the Canada Winter Games in February and is on the junior national team, was second overall, up from third last year, with a time of 38:38.

Taking third was Yukon Member of Parliament Ryan Leef, reaching the summit in 41:08.

The race’s top female was Whitehorse’s Chantal Gagne, coming in eighth overall with a time of 44:05.

Coming in second for females was Whitehorse’s Jessie Gladish with a time of 55:00, just 14 seconds ahead of Dawson’s Alison Slater in third. The two finished 31st and 32nd overall.

Fifty-four runners and three walkers took part in the race, which began the year before the first Dawson City Music Festival.


1st Stephen Waterreus (Whitehorse) – 35:28

2nd Knute Johnsgaard (Whitehorse) – 38:38

3rd Ryan Leef (Whitehorse) – 41:08

4th Sean MacDonald (Whitehorse) – 42:42

5th Matthew Cuddy (Sault Ste Marie) – 42:59

6th Boris Hoefs (Whitehorse) – 43:25

7th Ted Hunter (Dawson) – 43:35

8th Chantal Gagne (Whitehorse) – 44:05

9th Ted Piotrowsky (Superior, WI) – 44:25

10th William MacKeller (Whitehorse) – 44:25

11th Davy Dhillon (Vadchoof) – 45:00

12th Johan Hulquist (Toronto) – 45:11

13th Nicholas Diamont (Ottawa) – 45:31

14th Mike Tribes (Whitehorse) – 46:11

15th Daniel O’leary-Baikie (Dawson) – 46:43

16th Robert King (Sudbury) – 47:36

17th Chris Stafford (Dawson) – 48:03

18th Johnny MacKenzie (Whitehorse) – 48:03

19th Ross Reed (Nepean) – 48:23

20th Jeff Knievel (Regina) – 49:34

31st Jessie Gladish (Whitehorse) – 55:00

32nd Alison Slater (Dawson) – 55:14

33rd Bobbie Dochstader (London) – 55:23

36th Debora Kitchen (Whitehorse) – 57:51

Contact Tom Patrick at


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Dawson the dog sits next to the Chariot Patrick Jackson has loaded and rigged up to walk the Dempster Highway from where it begins, off the North Klondike Highway, to the Arctic Circle. (Submitted)
Walking the Dempster

Patrick Jackson gets set for 405-kilometre journey

Liberal leader Sandy Silver speaks outside his campaign headquarters in Dawson City following early poll results on April 12. (Robin Sharp/Yukon News)
BREAKING: Minority government results will wait on tie vote in Vuntut Gwitchin

The Yukon Party and the Liberal Party currently have secured the same amount of seats

Yukonomist Keith Halliday
YUKONOMIST: The Neapolitan election

Do you remember those old bricks of Neapolitan ice cream from birthday… Continue reading

Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News)
Exposure notice issued for April 3 Air North flight

Yukon Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley has issued another… Continue reading

Crystal Schick/Yukon News file
Runners in the Yukon Arctic Ultra marathon race down the Yukon River near the Marwell industrial area in Whitehorse on Feb. 3, 2019.
Cold-weather exercise hard on the lungs

Amy Kenny Special to the Yukon News It might make you feel… Continue reading

Today’s Mailbox: Rent freezes and the youth vote

Dear Editor, I read the article regarding the recommendations by the Yukon… Continue reading

Point-in-Time homeless count planned this month

Volunteers will count those in shelters, short-term housing and without shelter in a 24-hour period.

The Yukon’s new ATIPP Act came into effect on April 1. Yukoners can submit ATIPP requests online or at the Legislative Assembly building. (Gabrielle Plonka/Yukon News file)
New ATIPP Act in effect as of April 1

The changes promise increased government transparency

A new conservancy in northern B.C. is adjacent to Mount Edziza Provincial Park. (Courtesy BC Parks)
Ice Mountain Lands near Telegraph Creek, B.C., granted conservancy protection

The conservancy is the first step in a multi-year Tahltan Stewardship Initiative

Yukon RCMP reported a child pornography-related arrest on April 1. (Phil McLachlan/Black Press file)
Whitehorse man arrested on child pornography charges

The 43-year-old was charged with possession of child pornography and making child pornography

Team Yukon athletes wave flags at the 2012 Arctic Winter Games opening ceremony in Whitehorse. The postponed 2022 event in Wood Buffalo, Alta., has been rescheduled for Jan. 29 to Feb. 4, 2023. (Justin Kennedy/Yukon News file)
New dates set for Arctic Winter Games

Wood Buffalo, Alta. will host event Jan. 29 to Feb. 4, 2023

Victoria Gold Corp. has contributed $1 million to the First Nation of Na-cho Nyak Dun after six months of production at the Eagle Gold Mine. (Submitted/Victoria Gold Corp.)
Victoria Gold contributes $1 million to First Nation of Na-cho Nyak Dun

Victoria Gold signed a Comprehensive Cooperation and Benefits Agreement in 2011

Most Read