Skookum Cashspiel draws big names

Curling legends Randy Ferbey and Rick Folk will head to Whitehorse later this month to smash some rocks at the Whitehorse Curling Club for the second…

Curling legends Randy Ferbey and Rick Folk will head to Whitehorse later this month to smash some rocks at the Whitehorse Curling Club for the second annual World Curling Tour event to be hosted here.

As many as nine teams from outside the territory will compete with several local curling teams.

The 18-team cash spiel has a guaranteed cash prize purse of $30,000, with the champion team taking home $10,000.

Major sponsor Skookum Asphalt has agreed to a three-year deal, guaranteeing the spiel past 2009.

Six-time Canadian and four-time world curling champion Randy Ferbey will return to defend his title, along with two of his teammates (Scott Pfeifer and Marcel Rocque), and 2002 Olympic silver medalist Don Walchuk.

Two-time Canadian and two-time world champion Rick Folk will bring teammates Grant Dezura, Fred Thompson and Dean Lunn, to the Whitehorse event.

“I was in Whitehorse for a presentation on behalf of the Canadian Curling Association in 1990 and I was very impressed with the facility of the WCC.

This will be my first time playing in the venue, but I have heard such great remarks from other competitive curlers on the ice conditions there,” said Folk.

Both Team Ferbey and Team Folk will make time for some school appearances as well as on-ice instruction for some of the Whitehorse Curling Club juniors.

The 2007 Skookum/WCT Yukon Cash Spiel will be taking place at the Whitehorse Curling Club from November 22nd to 25th.

Tickets for the event will be available at the door or in advance by calling the Whitehorse Curling Club

Indoor soccer

Under-11 (Monday)

Better Bodies 5

Austring Fendrick Fairman & Pakkari 3

Scoring for Better Bodies were Landon Worsfold and Jake Njootli with two goals each, and Noah Kitchen scored and was named player of the game.

Aiden Uiterwaal scored twice for the Firm, and Nicola Lazeo Fairman added one. MVP was Noah Van Flotow.

Assante Financial 4

The Deli 2

Peter Jensen netted two for Assante and took the MVP for it, while Trygg Jensen and Patrick Scott scored as well.

Riley Johnson had both goals for The Deli, Samantha Wintemule was named player of the game.

Henry Gulch Exploration 6

Jacob’s Industries 4

Henry Gulch’s Tanner Borsa scored four goals to lead his team to victory, Kyle Wallace and Wynn White scored as well. Chris Welch took the MVP nod.

MVP Braden Klaasen had a pair for Jacob’s, while Janelle Cousins and Kyle Jacobs added goals.

Tim Hortons 3

Physio Plus 3

Tim Horton goal scorers were Odessa Beatty, Nicolas Dobush and MVP Britanny Stutzman.

Physio Plus had goals from MVP Liam Evans, Jacob Scwhinghammer, Peter Jacob.

Kal Tire 2

Brouwer Claims 1

Scorers for Kal Tire were Chris Torgerson and Adrian Woodhouse, and the MVP was Tannicka Reeves.

For Brouwer Claims the lone goal was kicked in by Hanna Milner and earning her the MVP title as well.


Minor Hockey

Atom Division (Saturday)

Pearson Dental 6

Team Four 5

Max Clarke scored two goals, and assisted on another as Pearson Dental edged past Team Four. Luke McGrath, Isaiah Schab, Riley Smoler and Ryan Edwards added goals. Mark McGrath took the most valuable player honours.

Kole Smeeton netted a hat trick for Team Four, and Joshua Van Bibber and Shannon Morrison added singles. Dennis Hsi and Michael Ritchie helped out with two assists each. Damian Homis was named MVP.


Recreational Hockey

Sunday results:

Terra Firma/SL Forest Service Muckers 9

Alkan Air 0

The Muckers grounded Alkan Air, with Nathan Dumont scoring a hat trick, Dave Hart, Dan Beaudain and Alain Desrochers scoring two goals each and Brian Douglas adding one.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Wyatt’s World

Wyatt’s World for March 5, 2021.

City councillor Samson Hartland in Whitehorse on Dec. 3, 2018. Hartland has announced his plans to run for mayor in the Oct. 21 municipal election. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News file)
Councillor sets sights on mayor’s chair

Hartland declares election plans

Premier Sandy Silver speaks to media after delivering the budget in the legislature in Whitehorse on March 4. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News)
Territorial budget predicts deficit of $12.7 million, reduced pandemic spending in 2021-2022

If recovery goes well, the territory could end up with a very small surplus.

Dawson City RCMP are reporting a break and enter on Feb. 25 after two masked men entered a residence, assaulted a man inside with a weapon and departed. (Black Press file)
Two men arrested after Dawson City home invasion

Dawson City RCMP are reporting a break and enter on Feb. 25.… Continue reading

Highways and Public Works Minister Richard Mostyn speaks to reporters at a news conference in Whitehorse on Dec. 21, 2017. New ATIPP laws are coming into effect April 1. (Chris Windeyer/Yukon News file)
New access to information laws will take effect April 1

“Our government remains committed to government openness and accountability.”

Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley receives his first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine from Public Health Nurse Angie Bartelen at the Yukon Convention Centre Clinic in Whitehorse on March 3. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News)
State of emergency extended for another 90 days

“Now we’re in a situation where we see the finish line.”

Team Yukon athletes wave flags at the 2012 Arctic Winter Games opening ceremony in Whitehorse. The 2022 event in Wood Buffalo, Alta., has been postponed indefinitely. (Justin Kennedy/Yukon News file)
2022 Arctic Winter Games postponed indefinitely

Wood Buffalo, Alta., Host Society committed to rescheduling at a later date

Crews work to clear the South Klondike Highway after an avalanche earlier this week. (Submitted)
South Klondike Highway remains closed due to avalanches

Yukon Avalanche Association recommending backcountry recreators remain vigilant

RCMP Online Crime Reporting website in Whitehorse on March 5. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News)
Whitehorse RCMP launch online crime reporting

Both a website and Whitehorse RCMP app are now available

A man walks passed the polling place sign at city hall in Whitehorse on Oct. 18, 2018. The City of Whitehorse is preparing for a pandemic-era election this October with a number of measures proposed to address COVID-19 restrictions. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News file)
City gets set for Oct. 21 municipal election

Elections procedures bylaw comes forward

A rendering of the Normandy Manor seniors housing facility. (Photo courtesy KBC Developments)
Work on seniors housing project moves forward

Funding announced for Normandy Manor

Tom Ullyett, pictured, is the first Yukoner to receive the Louis St-Laurent Award of Excellence from the Canadian Bar Association for his work as a community builder and mentor in the territory. (Gabrielle Plonka/Yukon News)
Tom Ullyett wins lifetime achievement award from the Canadian Bar Association

Ullyett has worked in the Yukon’s justice ecosystem for 36 years as a public sector lawyer and mentor

The Blood Ties outreach van will now run seven nights a week, thanks to a boost in government funding. Logan Godin, coordinator, and Jesse Whelen, harm reduction counsellor, are seen here on May 12, 2020. (Crystal Schick/Yukon News file)
Blood Ties outreach van running seven nights a week with funding boost

The Yukon government is ramping up overdose response, considering safe supply plan

Most Read