Nannock, Fort MacPherson win Native titles

By Ian Stewart News Reporter The 31st Annual Yukon Native Hockey Tournament crowned its champions yesterday at the Takhini Arena, with the Nannock…

By Ian Stewart

News Reporter

The 31st Annual Yukon Native Hockey Tournament crowned its champions yesterday at the Takhini Arena, with the Nannock Warriors reclaiming the A-division title after placing third last year.

Nannock pummeled the Kluane/Alaska team in the final, 8-0, with goalie Brad Atkinson recording the shutout and taking the top goalie award for the tournament.

The winner of the five-team A division took home a $5000 prize as well, and second-place won $3000.

Nannock’s Brian Gleason was the tournament’s top scorer and Kluane’s Scott Michaels was named MVP. Nannock’s Billy McKay was named best defenceman.

The B-division final was also a blowout, with Fort MacPherson’s Gwich’in Flames scorching the Champagne Aishihik Storm by a score of 7-2.

The 14-team B-division final was definitely louder than the A-final, with a Fort MacPherson cheering section that raised the excitement level of the whole game.

The Gwich’in Flames goalie Andy Heerschap took the top goalie award, and teammate Dallas Jackson was named B-division MVP.

Top defenceman was Champagne Aishihik’s Scott Hume, and the top scorer was Kaska’s Justin Pauls.

It was an all-Old Crow final in the youth division, with the Gwitch’in Braves battling the Gwitch’in Gladiators.

The Braves won a 3-2 victory, with two goals from Kolin Kabanak and one from Daniel Moses.

The MVP for the youth division was the Gwitch’in Braves Kaleb Millwater, teammate Riley Pettitt took the scoring title, and Brave’s Bryne Weins took top goalie.

The top defenceman went to Gwitch’in Gladiators Matthew Moses, and the most inspirational player award went to the Dakwakada Storm’s Dylan McQuaig.

In the jamboree division, ages 14-17, the Tuya Tornadoes beat the Reel Cold Ice Dogs in the final, Tuya’s Bryden Cook taking the MVP nod, and Riley Tobin scoring the most points and Brad Gustafson took the top goalie award. Reel Cold’s Chris Vance took the top defenceman award.

In the oldtimers division, Inuvik’s High Speed Auto Flyers beat the Eagle Rock Flyers from Carmacks, and Inuvik’s Cal Wenghofer took the MVP award.

Junior Kuptana won the scoring title, and Tom Williams was the best goaltender.

Carmacks’ Bill Bohmer was named top defenceman.

Contact Ian Stewart at

Just Posted

Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley. (Yukon News file)
Yukon logs nine new COVID-19 cases, 54 active cases

More CEMA enforcement officers have been recruited, officials say

Yukon paleontologists Grant Zazula (left) and Elizabeth Hall (right) examine mammoth fossils in Whitehorse on June 10. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News)
Mammoth bones discovered at Dawson mine site

“So this is just a start, hopefully, we’re going to be learning a lot.”

Rodney and Ekaterina Baker plead guilty to offences under the Yukon’s Civil Emergency Measures Act for breaking isolation requirements in order to sneak into a vaccine clinic and receive Moderna vaccine doses in Beaver Creek. (Facebook/Submitted)
Couple who broke isolation rules to get vaccines in Beaver Creek fined $2,300

Crown and defence agreed on no jail time for Rod and Ekaterina Baker


Wyatt’s World for June 16, 2021.… Continue reading

Chief Medical Officer of Health Dr. Brendan Hanley. (Yukon News file)
COVID-19 outbreak surges to 50 active cases in the Yukon

Officials urge Yukoners to continue following guidelines, get vaccinated

Jonathan Antoine/Cabin Radio
Flooding in Fort Simpson on May 8.
Fort Simpson asked for military help. Two people showed up.

FORT SIMPSON—Residents of a flooded Northwest Territories village expected a helping hand… Continue reading

A woman was rescued from the Pioneer Ridge Trail in Alaska on June 16. (Photo courtesy/AllTrails)
Alaska hiker chased off trail by bears flags down help

ANCHORAGE (AP)—An Alaska hiker who reported needing help following bear encounters on… Continue reading

Two participants cross the finish line at the City of Whitehorse Kids Triathlon on June 12 with Mayor Dan Curtis on hand to present medals. (Stephanie Waddell/Yukon News)
2021 Kids’ Triathlon draws 76 young athletes

Youth ages five to 14 swim, run and bike their way to finish line

NDP MP Mumilaaq Qaqqaq rises in the House of Commons, in Ottawa on May 13, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
‘Unacceptable’ that Inuk MP felt unsafe in House of Commons, Miller says

OTTAWA—It’s a “sad reflection” on Canada that an Inuk MP feels she’s… Continue reading

Lily Witten performs her Canadian Nationals beam routine on June 14. John Tonin/Yukon News
Three Yukon gymnasts break 20-year Nationals absence

Bianca Berko-Malvasio, Maude Molgat and Lily Witten competed at the Canadian Nationals – the first time in 20 years the Yukon’s been represented at the meet

For the second year running, the Yukon Quest will not have 1,000 mile race. Crystal Schick/Yukon News
The Yukon Quest will be two shorter distance events instead of a 1,000 mile race

After receiving musher feeback, the Yukon Quest Joint Board of Directors to hold two shorter distances races instead of going forward with the 1,000 mile distance

It’s been a long time since most Yukoners have seen downtown Skagway. (Andrew Seal/Yukon News file)
What Canada-U.S. border changes could mean for Alaska travel

The federal government is expected to make an announcement on Monday

A rendering of the proposed new city hall/services building and transit hub. (City of Whitehorse/submitted)
City building plans move forward

Council approves procurement going ahead

Most Read