Literacy award nomination deadline approaching

Nominations for the 2020 Council of the Federal Literacy Award will remain open until June 30.

Premiers from each province and territory nominate candidates for the award in time for International Literacy Day on Sept. 8.

This literacy award is designed to recognize professionals and organizations that “demonstrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in adult literacy and are helping Yukon adults develop their literacy skills.”

Nominees must be at least 19 years old and have literacy and numeracy skills in either French or English.

Educators, volunteers, First Nations programs, community organizations and businesses can be nominated if they fit the criteria.

The Yukon’s recipients for 2019 were Ted Ackerman and Louis Smith. Ackerman is a Yukon Learn volunteer and Smith is a Kwanlin Dün First Nation elder. They were a “tutor-learner pair” who contributed to adult literacy as a form of reconciliation.

For more information about this award or to download a nomination package, you can visit

Contact Gord Fortin at

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Comments are closed

Just Posted

Yukon River Chinook run not as disastrous as feared, but still small

This year’s Yukon River Chinook salmon run isn’t as disastrous as originally… Continue reading

New contract approved for landfill management

Norcope Construction Group will be responsible for “daily operations” at the landfill

Recount planned following Carcross/Tagish First Nation’s close election for chief

Lynda Dickson received 109 votes, with runner up Danny Cresswell just five votes behind

Yukon government releases community safety plan for Whitehorse Emergency Shelter

The government is now reviewing the plan and working on creating an implementation group


Wyatt’s World for July 3, 2020

Today’s mailbox: COVID reopening

Letter to the editor published July 3

Vuntut Gwitchin councillor submits resignation

Vuntut Gwitchin councillor Cheryl Charlie has submitted her resignation, leaving Chief Dana… Continue reading

City hall, briefly

A look at decisions made by Whitehorse city council this week

Ancient lake bed sediments, unusual plants are markers of the Takhini salt flats

It’s one of the Yukon’s best open geological secrets, a well-known but… Continue reading

Yukon University hires director of finance

Yukon University announced in a press release on June 29 that Sheila… Continue reading

Diamond Tooth Gerties to reopen

The Klondike Visitors Association (KVA) announced in a press release on June… Continue reading

Newly-elected Liard First Nation chief accuses YG of interfering with election

Stephen Charlie says YG’s announcement days before election endorsed previous chief

Most Read