Premier Sandy Silver speaks during a press conference in Whitehorse on July 15. The Yukon government announced the transition community banking services from TD Bank to CIBC in a press release on July 28. Silver, in his role as finance minister, said the banking services allow those in communities to handle financial matters locally. (Alistair Maitland Photography)

Community banking services to move to CIBC

A number of Yukon communities will see changes in banking this fall as the territory transitions community banking services from TD Bank to CIBC.

The Yukon government announced the change in a July 28 statement, noting the new contract with CIBC will ensure continued banking services in communities that would not likely be otherwise served.

“Banking services are essential to community residents, First Nation and municipal governments, local businesses and tourists,” Premier and Finance Minister Sandy Sliver said. “Having reliable and convenient access to banking services ensures Yukoners in communities can take care of personal financial matters and be part of the economic growth of the territory.”

The territory is working with both TD and CIBC to ensure there’s as little disruption to services as possible.

Many residents won’t need to change accounts or institutions as services can be provided regardless of the institution and business and government can expect the same level and types of services currently delivered at the banks in the communities, the government said.

“CIBC is pleased to be appointed to serve these Yukon communities. Since opening our first branch in Dawson City in 1898, we have been proud of our deep relationship with the people in Yukon,” CIBC Northern Canada Region Head Chris Giulekas said. “We look forward to providing banking services to First Nations governments and local governments, businesses, community organizations and citizens.”​

Along with the full service banks it already operates in Whitehorse, Dawson and Watson Lake, the change will see CIBC locations in Beaver Creek, Burwash Landing, Carmacks, Faro, Haines Junction, Mayo, Pelly Crossing, Ross River, Teslin and Old Crow.

A staggered approach to the change will take place and depending on the community; that will happen between Sept. 28 and Oct. 15.

Contact Stephanie Waddell at

Yukon government

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

U Kon Echelon hosts Tour de Haines Junction

U Kon Echelon continued its busy schedule with the Tour de Haines… Continue reading

Melted beeswax, community pottery take centre stage at Arts Underground’s August shows

Two new, and very different, shows will be opening at Whitehorse’s Arts… Continue reading

Northern First Nations call for a major overhaul of mining legislation

The Na-Cho Nyäk Dun, Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in and Vuntut Gwitchin Governments say change is long overdue

Yukon Salmon Sub-Committee recommends First Nations take ‘additional measures’ to conserve Chinook

Recommendation comes as Chinook run on the Yukon River appears unlikely to meet spawning goals

Students prepare for online learning as Yukon University announces fall semester

The school plans to support students who may struggle with remote learning

Changes to federal infrastructure funds allow for COVID-19 flexibility

Announcement allows for rapid COVID-19 projects and expands energy programs to Whitehorse

City hall, briefly

A look at decisions made by Whitehorse city council this week

C/TFN announces Montana Mountain reopening plan

Carcross/Tagish First Nation and the Carcross/Tagish Management Corporation announced the partial reopening… Continue reading

Roberta Joseph reelected as Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in chief

Unofficial results show Joseph with more than double the votes of runner-up

Development incentives considered for three projects

Projects will add 24 rental units to the market

Delegate calls for crosswalk changes to show support for people of colour

Mayor states support for idea, but cautions it could take some time

Whitehorse advises of water system maintenance

Residents on the city’s water system are being advised they may notice… Continue reading

Walkway, signs planned for West Dawson paddlewheel graveyard

Unofficial attraction may get 135-m walkway and interpretive signs, if YESAB application approved

Most Read