A look back …

Friday afternoon, Premier Darrell Pasloski announced Yukoners would be going to the polls on October 11. So, the latest territorial election will be held almost exactly five years after the Yukon Party won its second successive majority on October 10, 2006.

Friday afternoon, Premier Darrell Pasloski announced Yukoners would be going to the polls on October 11.

So, the latest territorial election will be held almost exactly five years after the Yukon Party won its second successive majority on October 10, 2006.

Unlike the last election, there are now 19 ridings.

In 2006, 13,545 votes were cast across 18 ridings.

Of those, the Yukon Party took 5,506, or 40.65 per cent of the popular vote.

The Liberals pulled 4,699 ballots, for 34.69 per cent of the popular vote.

The New Democrats, with 3,197 ballots, took 23.60 per cent of the popular vote.

And Independent candidates pulled 143 votes, or 1.06 per cent of those cast.

When the dust settled, there was only 807 votes separating the Yukon Party government and the Opposition Liberals.

Curious for a refresher course on how close some of those races were?

Take a look…

Incumbents shown in bold.



Yukon Party: 405

Liberal Party: 132

New Democratic Party: 297

Independent: 56

Difference between winner (YP’s Steve Nordick) and runner up (NDP’s Jorn Meier): 108 votes


Yukon Party: 176

Liberal Party: 317

New Democratic Party: 82

Independent: 19

Difference between winner (LP’s Gary McRobb) and runner up (YP’s Jim Bowers): 141 votes


Yukon Party: 458

Liberal Party: 221

New Democratic Party: 120

Difference between winner (YP’s Brad Cathers) and runner up (LP’s Jon Breen): 237 votes


Yukon Party: 166

Liberal Party: 301

New Democratic Party: 99

Difference between winner (LP’s Eric Fairclough) and runner up (YP’s Jean VanBibber): 135 votes


Yukon Party: 236

Liberal Party: 231

New Democratic Party: 361

Difference between winner (NDP’s Steve Cardiff) and runner up (YP’s Valerie Boxall): 125 votes


Yukon Party: 241

Liberal Party: 145

New Democratic Party: 146

Independent: 40

Difference between winner (YP’s Marian Horne [now running in Whitehorse Centre]) and runner up (NDP’s Gwen Wally): 95 votes


Yukon Party: 276

Liberal Party: 134

New Democratic Party: 238

Difference between winner (YP’s Patrick Rouble) and runner up (NDP’s Kevin Barr): 38 votes


Yukon Party: 38

Liberal Party: 64

New Democratic Party: 40

Difference between winner (LP’s Darius Elias) and runner up (NDP’s Lorraine Peter [Netro]): 24 votes


Yukon Party: 495

Liberal Party: 196

New Democratic Party: 45

Independent: 28

Difference between winner (YP’s Dennis Fentie) and runner up (LP’s Rick Harder): 299 votes



Yukon Party: 374

Liberal Party: 632

New Democratic Party: 191

Difference between winner (LP’s Arthur Mitchell) and runner up (YP’s Russ Hobbis): 258 votes


Yukon Party: 201

Liberal Party: 328

New Democratic Party: 334

Difference between winner (NDP’s John Edzerza) and runner up (LP’s Ed Schultz): six votes


Yukon Party: 344

Liberal Party: 224

New Democratic Party: 159

Difference between winner (YP’s Archie Lang) and 1st runner up (LP’s David Laxton [now running for the YP in Porter Creek Centre]): 120 votes


Yukon Party: 311

Liberal Party: 191

New Democratic Party: 158


Difference between winner (YP’s Jim Kenyon) and runner up (LP’s Dale Cheeseman): 120 votes


Yukon Party: 298

Liberal Party: 304

New Democratic Party: 97

Difference between winner (LP’s Don Inverarity) and runner up (YP’s Dean Hassard): six votes


Yukon Party: 429

Liberal Party: 373

New Democratic Party: 172

Difference between winner (YP’s Ted Staffen) and runner up (LP’s Lesley Cabott): 56 votes


Yukon Party: 357

Liberal Party: 324

New Democratic Party: 226

Difference between winner (YP’s Glenn Hart) and runner up (LP’s Phil Treusch): 33 votes


Yukon Party: 190

Liberal Party: 211

New Democratic Party: 357

Difference between winner (NDP’s Todd Hardy) and runner up (LP’s Bernie Phillips): 146 votes


Yukon Party: 511

Liberal Party: 371

New Democratic Party: 75

Difference between winner (YP’s Elaine Taylor) and runner up (LP’s Mike Walton): 140 votes

*Please note that some ridings have changed since 2006.

Copperbelt, has now divided into Takhini-Kopper King, Copperbelt North and Copperbelt South. Also, much of Copperbelt south was previously the Mount Lorne riding. The Whitehorse West riding has expanded and the McIntyre-Takhini riding is now split between Takhini-Kopper King, Mountainview and Whitehorse West.

Just Posted

Whether the dust jacket of this historical novel is the Canadian version (left) or the American (right), the readable content within is the same. (Michael Gates)
History Hunter: New novel a gripping account of the gold rush

Stampede: Gold Fever and Disaster in the Klondike is an ‘enjoyable and readable’ account of history


Wyatt’s World for May 14, 2021.… Continue reading

Copies of the revised 2021-22 budget documents tabled in the legislature on May 14. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News)
Liberals introduce new budget with universal dental and safe supply funding

The new items were added to secure the support of the NDP.

Community Services Minister Richard Mostyn speaks to reporters on May 13. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News)
Cap on rent increases will take effect May 15

The rollout of the policy is creating ‘chaos,’ says opposition

Yukon News file
A 21-year-old man is in custody after a stabbing in Porter Creek on May 14.
One man in hospital, another in custody, after alleged stabbing in Porter Creek

A police dog was used to track the suspect who was later arrested in a wooded area.

Safe at home office in Whitehorse on May 10, 2021. (John Tonin/Yukon News)
Federal government provides $1.6 million for Yukon anti-homelessness work

Projects including five mobile homes for small communities received funding.

Drilling at Northern Tiger’s 3Ace gold project in 2011. Randi Newton argues that mining in the territory can be reshaped. (Yukon government/file)
Editorial: There’s momentum for mining reform

CPAWS’ Randi Newton argues that the territory’s mining legislations need a substantial overhaul

At its May 10 meeting, Whitehorse city council approved the subdivision for the Kwanlin Dün First Nation’s business park planned in Marwell. (Submitted)
KDFN business park subdivision approved

Will mean more commercial industrial land available in Whitehorse

Main Street in Whitehorse on May 4. Whitehorse city council has passed the first two readings of a bylaw to allow pop-up patios in city parking spaces. Third reading will come forward later in May. (Stephanie Waddell/Yukon News)
Whitehorse council pursuing restaurant patio possibilities

Council passes first two readings for new patio bylaw

Neil Hartling, the Tourism Industry Association of the Yukon president, left, said the new self-isolation guidelines for the Yukon are a ‘ray of hope’ for tourism operators. (Ian Stewart/Yukon News file)
Yukon tourism operators prepared for ‘very poor summer’ even with relaxed border rules

Toursim industry responds to new guidelines allowing fully vaccinated individuals to skip mandatory self-isolation.

A lawsuit has been filed detailing the resignation of a former Yukon government mine engineer. (Joel Krahn/Yukon News file)
A year after resigning, former chief mine engineer sues Yukon government

Paul Christman alleges a hostile work environment and circumvention of his authority led him to quit

Former Liberal MLA Pauline Frost speaks to reporters outside the courthouse on April 19. One of the voters accused of casting an invalid vote has been granted intervenor status in the lawsuit Frost filed last month. (Haley Ritchie/Yukon News)
Voters named in Pauline Frost election lawsuit ask to join court proceedings

The judge granted Christopher Schafer intervenor status

Most Read