Yukon News

Eby rink drives away with curling title

Tom Patrick Friday November 21, 2014

Tom Patrick/Yukon News


Above: Team Eby third Tamar Vandenberghe watches her shot during the Whitehorse Motors Ladies Bonspiel at the Whitehorse Curling Club on Sunday. Laura Eby's rink placed first out of 12 teams. Below: Alyssa Meger sends a shot down the ice on Sunday.

Laura Eby’s curling team swept up points and a title over the weekend.

Team Eby was the only rink to break 50 at the Whitehorse Motors Ladies Bonspiel - a skins competition - at the Whitehorse Curling Club over the weekend.

The Whitehorse team scored 51 points out of a possible 60 in the skins format, which awards the winner of an end two points and the losing side one point.

“It was great. It’s a great weekend because of the scoring format: it gives everyone a chance to score and to be in with the rest of the better teams,” said Eby. “(Organizer) Donna Scott always puts a great show on.”

Eby, who was curling with third Tamar Vandenberghe, second Janine Peters, lead Lorna Spenner, placed fourth in last season’s bonspiel.

Tom Patrick/Yukon News


Alyssa Meger sends a shot down the ice on Sunday.

“This is our normal Thursday night team with the exception of Tamar, she was sparing for our third who is in Dallas,” said Eby.

“(The scores) were all pretty close, which was great, because we’re all on the same level.”

A total of 12 teams participated in this year’s bonspiel, each playing five six-end games.

Ellen Johnson’s team, which included third Shawna Ryan, second Ev Pasichnyk, lead Nancy Kowalyshen, took second place with 48 points.

Third place went to the team of skip Donna Scott, third Karen Mahoney, second Eileen Burke, lead Lucy Coulthard, with 46 points. Team Scott tied two other teams in points, but took the third place spot with a tie-breaking draw to the button.

Judy Carson’s team came fourth and Arlene Yeulet’s fifth.

Also taking part in the bonspiel was the Atlin team of Sherry MacInnes, Dani McNeill, Bev Murphy and Janis Harper from Atlin, who will compete at the Travelers Club Curling Championships - formerly the Dominion Club Curling Championships - next week in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Representing Yukon on the men’s side will be the Whitehorse Curling Club’s Team Paslawski with skip Pat Paslawski, third Doug Hamilton, second Trent Derkatch and lead Gary Brown.

Contact Tom Patrick at

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Add a comment

Commenting is no longer available for this story. Commenting expires 21 days after publishing.